IAB in the News

IABNZ Awards 2018 Finalists Announced

Wed, 15 Aug 2018

Who will win the IABNZ Awards 2018 Grand Prix Award trip to Barcelona in February 2019?

IAB NZ is delighted to announce the finalists of the IABNZ Awards for 2018.

With 69 entries across 15 categories, 37 finalists have been named, with winners set to be recognised across Digital Media Sales Excellence, Ad-Operations Excellence, Digital Product of the Year and Creative Facing categories. This year, a new category has been introduced, the ‘Rising Star Award’ to acknowledge the emerging talent of the industry.

Winners in the Sales Excellence and Ad-Op’s categories will be considered for the Grand Prix Award. The Grand Prix winner will win a trip to Barcelona, Spain to attend the Mobile World Conference in February 2019, a prize worth $2,500. And all winners of the individual categories will receive a ticket to ad:tech Sydney worth AU$1,300*

IABNZ CEO Adrian Pickstock said ‘we were blown away by the level of interest and the quality of entries this year. In particular, the Best Use of Native and Best Use of Video categories are very close. We now have a short list of some of the best operators in the country and we can’t wait to applaud these champions of our industry at the Awards night’

The winners will be announced at a Gala dinner at the MOTAT Aviation Hall in Auckland on 30 August.

The finalists are:

Digital Media Sales Excellence Award – Mobile:

Michael Buhagiar, Big Mobile
Sarah Atkinson, NZME
Natasha Judson, Exponential


Digital Media Sales Excellence Award – Display:

Elise Falgueirettes, Stuff
Mel Graham, MetService


Digital Media Sales Excellence Award – Video

Katrina Collinson, Mediaworks
James Rogal, Mediaworks
Laura Craig, Mediaworks

Digital Media Sales Excellence Award – Search

Steve Crowe, This Side Up
Rachel Crocket, NZME


Ad-Operations Excellence Award – Junior Ad-Ops Person of the Year

Caleb Williams, Stuff
Charlotte Startin, NZME
Tianze Yu, Big Mobile


Ad-Operations Excellence Award – Senior Ad-Ops Person of the Year

Christine Jones, Stuff
Jonathon Devereux, KPEX
Hydia Razavi, Mediaworks

Digital Product of the Year:

S.L.I.C.E Digital Affiliate Network, S.L.I.C.E Digital
AdTrek Advanced HTML 5 Ad Server, Electric Art
Audience Insights, Trade Me

Best Use of Mobile

‘Melbourne – A Twist at Every Turn’ Campaign, Big Mobile/OMD
‘Pak’ n Save Fridgemas’ Campaign, Sense Data/FCB

Best Use of Data

‘Manukau Institute of Technology – Flexible Study Courses’ Campaign, Arnaud Calonne and Team, Yahoo Platforms
‘Church Road TOM 2013 Vintage Launch’ Campaign, Scott Hughes and Team, NZME/Grab One
‘Harrisons Group’ Campaigns, Steve Crowe and Team, This Side Up

Best Use of Native

‘Lincoln University – Influencing the Influencers’ Campaign, Katy Atkin and Kristy Rosby, Stuff
‘Tui – Catch A Million This Summer’ Campaign, Mel Graham, MetService
‘The Survivors Collection’ Campaign, Freddie Leckie and Team, NZME

Best Use of Video

‘September – Cerebral Palsy’ Campaign, Simon Soulsby and the NZME Vision Team
‘Bookabach’ Campaign, Sam Abraham, NZME
‘HP - The Reinventors’ Campaign, Jacqueline Fraser, Bauer Media
‘Sensodyne - The Morning Brush Up’ Campaign, Matt Kum and John Farrell, Stuff
‘BNZ – The hardest working video’ Campaign, TVNZ/Mediacom

Digital Agency of the Year

Announced on the night

Trading Desk of the Year

OMD Programmatic
Acquire Online

Rising Star Award

Andrew Crowe – This Side Up
Jeff Lloyd – Mediaworks
Harry Sturt – Sense Data

Council Member of the Year

Announced on the night

Congratulations to all Finalists! We look forward to seeing you on the night.